Detection :: Scanner: Expert notification mode

When files are scanned with Scanner, you will receive an alert when the scan is complete containing a list of the affected files if you have selected interactive mode as the action mode for virus detection along with the combined (expert) notification mode (see the configuration sectionScanner::Scan::Action on detection).  
You can use the content-sensitive menu to select an action to be executed for the various files affected. You can execute the standard actions for all affected files or cancel the Scanner.

If reporting is enabled, the Scanner enters each detection in the Report file.

Alert message


File name of the affected file

The following information is displayed in the tooltip for the object: Name of the affected file and full path, name of the virus and action that is executed with the Apply Now button.


Name of the virus or unwanted program.


Selected action with which the affected file is to be handled

The standard action of Scanner is displayed as the action to be executed. The standard action of Scanner for handling affected files is to move the relevant files to quarantine.

Context menu actions

If the detection is a heuristic hit (HEUR/), a unusual runtime compression tool (PCK/) or a file with a hidden file extension (HEUR-DBLEXT/), in interactive mode only the options Move to quarantine and Ignore are available. In automatic mode the detection is automatically moved to quarantine folder.
This restriction prevents the detected files, which may be a false alarm, being directly removed (deleted) from your computer. The file can be recovered at any time with the aid of the Quarantine Manager.


If this option is enabled, the Scanner repairs the affected file.

The option Repair can only be enabled if a repair of the detected file is possible.

Move to quarantine

If this option is enabled, the Scanner moves the file to the quarantine. The file can be recovered from quarantine manager if it has an informative value or - if necessary - sent to the Avira Malware Research Center. Depending on the file, further selection options are available in the Quarantine Manager.


If this option is enabled, the file is deleted but can be restored if necessary with appropriate tools (e.g. Avira UnErase). The virus pattern can still be detected again. This process is much quicker than "overwrite and delete".

Overwrite and delete

If this option is enabled, the Scanner overwrites the file with a default pattern and then deletes it. It cannot be restored.


If this option is enabled, the Scanner renames the file. Direct access to these files (e.g. with double-click) is therefore no longer possible. Files can later be repaired and given their original names again.


If this option is enabled, access to the file is allowed and the file is left as it is.

The affected file remains active on your workstation! It may cause serious damage on your workstation!

Buttons and links

Button / link


Apply now

The selected actions are executed to handle all affected files.


Scanner is closed without further action. The affected files are left unchanged on your computer system.

This page of the online help is opened via this button or link.

Only execute the Cancel action in exceptional cases. The affected files remain active on your workstation after you cancel. It may cause serious damage on your workstation!