Message quarantine

The Message quarantine mailbox is a special mailbox defined by the system administrator to store potentially infected messages and SPAM. Messages stored in quarantine can be analyzed or cleaned later using a newer virus signature database.


You can define message quarantine mailboxes for multiple recipients. Every quarantine rule can be enabled or disabled by selecting or deselecting the check box in its row.




Common message quarantine – specify a common message quarantine address (i.e.,


Message intended for non-existing message quarantine:

Retain message - a message will be processed in a standard way

Delete message - a message will be deleted if it is addressed to a recipient with non-existing quarantine rule and a common message quarantine is not specified

Quarantine message to the mail server system quarantine - a message will be stored to the mail server system quarantine


Prefer common message quarantine – when this option is enabled, a message will be sent to the specified common quarantine if more than one quarantine rule is met (e.g., if a message has multiple recipients and some of them are defined in multiple quarantine rules)

Delete the original list content on client - removes original quarantine rules from the list on client workstations


Add – you can add a new quarantine rule by entering desired recipient's email address and the quarantine email address to which the email will be forwarded

Edit – modifies selected quarantine rule

Remove – removes selected quarantine rule from the list in ESET Configuration Editor. This will not result in deleting the rule from client workstations on which the configuration will be applied. To delete the rule on the client, you have to check the Marked for deletion option.


Marked for deletion - marks a particular rule for permanent removal. The rule(s) will be deleted after the configuration has been applied to a client.


NOTE: You can also use system variables (e.g., %PATH%) when configuring Message Quarantine settings.