About the domains

A domain involves a select group of agents. Symantec ESM provides the default domains that group the agents by operating systems. These domains include all supported Windows, UNIX, NetWare/NDS, and OpenVMS Operating Systems.

Because a manager may need to assess groups of agents separately, you can create additional domains to facilitate queries of those groups. You can create domains to reflect organizational divisions, such as accounting computers, production computers, or marketing computers. You can also create geographic divisions, such as Building C computers or Denver computers. Because Symantec ESM has a scalable architecture, you can locate these computers in one room or spread them across the wide geographic distances. Managers can connect to all of the agent computers in the enterprise.